Homepage The Institute Prof. Saling For Pregnant Women For Professionals Donations Contact and addresses  
Erich Saling-Institute of Perinatal Medicine
Introduction Curriculum Vitae Scientific Achievements Important Publications Publications about Prof. Saling Maternité
Prizes
 
deutsch
español
  Logo (mother with baby)

Prof. Erich Saling, FRCOG, FIAPM

“Father of Perinatal Medicine”

The Berlin professor Erich Saling is a significant pathfinder of the medical field called “Perinatal Medicine” which cares for mothers and infants before, during, and after birth.

In 1960 professor Saling performed the first direct examination of the unborn child, the “fetal micro blood analysis”, opening the door to prenatal medicine.

He is also the founder of the first national as well as the first international special society of Perinatal Medicine. His significant contributions led to the expansion of this specialty. The international community of colleagues therefore calls him the “Father of Perinatal Medicine”.

In 1988 the Berlin Senate distinguished professor Saling by awarding him the Ernst-Reuter medal for his services. In 2001 he was decorated with the Order of the Federal Republic of Germany, 1st class by the President of the German Republic, Johannes Rau. In 2000 the “World Association of Perinatal Medicine” established an award named after professor Saling as a special honor. This award is given every two years to the best scientist in the field of Perinatal Medicine. In May 2005 Prof. Saling has been elected as president of the new founded “International Academy of Perinatal Medicine”, and in September 2010 he was re-elected for the next five years.

Since the 1970s Prof. Saling was the Director of the Institute of Perinatal Medicine of the Free University of Berlin and the Director of the Department of Obstetrics in the community Hospital Berlin Neukölln (Germany). During his responsibility over 60 000 children were born. In order to be able to continue his work to improve the health of mother and child, he founded the non-profit “Erich Saling-Institute of Perinatal Medicine e.V.”. Even after “retirement” he thus developed one of his best achievements: The Self-Care-Program for pregnant women.

Photo of Prof. Saling
 
HÖRZU title page, Nov. 18. 1978: Prof. Saling with babies

HÖRZU title page, Nov. 18. 1978

Please click on the miniature picture.



 Top of page



www.saling-institut.de
© 2005 Erich Saling-Institute of Perinatal Medicine, registered society.
Content is copyright protected. All rights reserved.
The information obtained from our website does not in any way provide a replacement for the personal advice and care given by your own physician.
Please read our legal information and the notice about making quotations.

Imprint

This page was last edited on 15.12.2016.

Prof. Erich Saling, FRCOG, FIAPM

„Vater der Perinatalen Medizin“

Maßgeblicher Wegbereiter der Medizin, die sich um Mutter und Kind in der Zeit vor, während und nach der Geburt kümmert, im Fachjargon „Perinatale Medizin“, ist der Berliner Professor Erich Saling.

Prof. Saling führte 1960 mit der „Mikroblutuntersuchung am Feten“ die überhaupt erste direkte Untersuchung am noch ungeborenen Kind durch. Damit eröffnete er der vorgeburtlichen Medizin (pränatale Medizin) den Weg.

Er ist auch Gründer der ersten nationalen sowie der ersten internationalen Fachgesellschaft für Perinatale Medizin. Seine bis in die jüngste Zeit hineinreichenden Beiträge haben maßgeblich zum Aufbau und Ausbau dieses Gebietes geführt. Er wird deshalb von Kollegen auch als „father of perinatal medicine“ (Vater der Perinatalen Medizin) bezeichnet.

Der Senat von Berlin hat Prof. Saling 1988 durch die Verleihung der Ernst-Reuter-Plakette für seine Verdienste ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 2001 wurde ihm das Bundesverdienstkreuz 1. Klasse verliehen. Als besondere Ehrung hat im Jahre 2000 die „World Association of Perinatal Medicine“ einen nach Prof. Saling benannten Preis eingerichtet. Dieser Preis wird alle zwei Jahre bei jedem Weltkongress an den besten Wissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet der Perinatalen Medizin verliehen. Im Mai 2005 ist Prof. Saling für die erste 5-Jahresperiode zum Präsidenten der neu gegründeten „International Academy of Perinatal Medicine“ gewählt worden.

Prof. Saling war langjähriger Leiter der geburtsmedizinischen Klinik Berlin-Neukölln. Während seines Wirkens kamen dort über 60 000 Kinder zur Welt. Um seine Arbeit zum Wohle von Mutter und Kind fortsetzen zu können, gründete er das gemeinnützige „Erich Saling-Institut für Perinatale Medizin e.V.“, das unter seiner Leitung steht. Dabei entwickelte er – bereits im „Ruhestand“ – eine seiner besten Errungenschaften: Die Selbstvorsorge-Aktion für Schwangere.

Porträtfoto von Prof. Saling
 
HÖRZU-Titelblatt vom 18. Nov. 1978: Prof. Saling mit Babies

HÖRZU-Titelblatt vom 18. Nov. 1978

Bitte klicken Sie auf das Miniaturbild.



 Seitenanfang



www.saling-institut.de
© 2003 Erich Saling-Institut für Perinatale Medizin e.V.
Inhalt urheberrechtlich geschützt. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Die auf unserer Internetseite enthaltenen Informationen stellen keinen Ersatz für die persönliche Beratung und Betreuung durch Ihre behandelnde Ärztin/ Ihren behandelnden Arzt dar.
Bitte lesen Sie unsere juristischen Informationen und die Hinweise für das Zitieren.

Impressum

Diese Seite wurde zuletzt bearbeitet am 15.12.2016.